Lot river and area

 

Towpath on the Lot at Bouzies, near Saint-Cirq Lapopie

http://www.wikiwand.com/en/Lot_(river)

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie is located 30 km east of Cahors, within the regional natural park Parc naturel régional des Causses du Quercy. The village overlooks the Lot River.

Its position, originally selected for defense, perched on a steep cliff 100 m above the river has helped make the town one of the most popular tourist destinations in the department, and the entire town is almost a museum. After it was “discovered” by the Post-Impressionist Henri Martin in the early 20th century, it became popular with other artists and the home of the writer André Breton.

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie is situated along the French pilgrimage route, Way of St. James. Coming from Cabrerets pilgrims would pass through, and then continue to Cahors, visiting St. Stephen’s cathedral.[1]

The Lot, originally the Olt (Occitan: Òlt; Latin: Oltis) rises in the Cévennes, flowing west through Quercy, where it flows into the Garonne, a total distance of 481 kilometres (299 mi). It gives its name to the departments of Lot and Lot-et-Garonne. (Olt is also the name of a river in Romania (Romanian: Olt; German: Alt; Latin: Aluta or Alutus, Turkish: Oltu, Ancient Greek: Ἄλυτος Alytos).

Lot et environs

Chemin de halage à Bouzies, non loin de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie

http://www.wikiwand.com/en/Lot_(river)

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie est située à 30 km à l’est de Cahors, dans Parc naturel régional des Causses du Quercy. Le village domine la rivière Lot.

Sa position, initialement sélectionnée pour la défense, perchée sur une falaise abrupte à 100 m au dessus de la rivière, a contribué à la popularité du village, actuellement l’une des destinations les plus touristiques du département. Ses ruelles escarpées et anciennes en font un site musée. Après avoir été redécouvert au dëbut du xx.siècle par le post-impressionniste Henri Martin, il est devenu populaire parmi d’autres artistes, entre autres André Breton s’y installa.

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie est également situé sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Les pèlerins arrivent de Cabrerets et en passant Saint-Cirq-Lapopie poursuivent leur route vers Cahors, où ils visite t la cathédrale Saint-Etienne.

Le Lot, à l’origine l’Olt (Occitan: Òlt; Latin: Oltis), prend sa source dans les Cévennes, traverse le Quercy vers l’Atlantique, et rejoint la Garonne après une course totale de 481 kilomètres.  Il donne son nom aux départements de Lot et de Lot-et-Garonne. (Olt est également le nom d’une rivière en Roumanie (Roumain: Olt, Allemand: Alt, Latin: Aluta ou Alutus, Turc: Oltu, Grec ancien: Ἄλυτος Alytos).